Keeping Safety Grounded in the Hydrogen Takeoff:
Revisiting Risk in Pig Launching and Receiving Operations

An online webinar

Presented by

Neil McKnight, T. D. Williamson

Thursday 16th June, 3pm (UK Time, BST/UTC+1) via Zoom

About the presentation

Hydrogen will increasingly be present in our gas pipelines and distribution networks in the coming years. As nations seek to reduce carbon emissions to net zero, hydrogen will be a critical medium to store and transport energy harvested by renewable and other sources. The pipeline and energy industry’s focus has been directed to the challenges that hydrogen, either blended with methane or transported in its pure form, will pose to existing infrastructure and production processes.

To optimise the useful life span of any pipeline system and prevent integrity failures, the ability to introduce and remove mechanical, intelligent or isolation pigs rapidly and safely is of great importance. The pigging industry is actively engaged in overcoming technical challenges and identifying suitable advances in pig design and material selection to ensure necessary operations can continue in the presence of hydrogen.

While responses to the technical challenges are timely and necessary, as pipeliners we must also make sure that the safety of our operational teams is given the same focus. In any pigging operation, but particularly in gas lines, the launching and receiving of pigs is the most safety critical aspect. The properties of hydrogen exacerbate these risks significantly due to the molecule size, increased flammability range in the presence of air and material property degradation.

This paper highlights the elevated risk profile that hydrogen poses during the launching and receiving process and identifies the mitigation actions operating teams should be made aware of through training with revised worksite procedures and risk assessments.

About the presenters

Neil McKnight has 18 years of experience in the International Oil & Gas Services Industry, primarily in the field of Pipeline Services & Inline Inspection.

After graduating with an MA (Hons) in International Relations from the University of Aberdeen, UK; he has held a range of roles in QA, Operations, Project Management, Sales & Commercial Management with extended work assignments in North Africa & the United States. Currently in his eleventh year with T.D.Williamson, Neil is the Senior Business Development Manager for Integrated Pigging Solutions in the Eastern Hemisphere.

When

Thursday 16th June, via Zoom
3pm (UK Time, BST/UTC+1)

Los Angeles, USA - 07:00 PDT
Houston, USA - 09:00 CDT
New York, USA - 10:00 EDT
Paris, France - 16:00 CEST
Cape Town, South Africa - 16:00 SAST
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates - 18:00 GST
Mumbai, India - 19:30 IST
Beijing, China - 22:00 CST
Tokyo, Japan - 23:00 JST

Webinar format

The webinar will be held online using Zoom.

Register now and we will send you the access codes and other details on how to use Zoom closer to the webinar date.

Prices

This online webinar is free of charge for both members and non-members.

Registering

Registration opens soon.

Have a Question?

To find out more details, please e-mail

 

Past Webinars

The unreasonable effectiveness of comparing successive in-line inspections to determine corrosion growth
Speaker: Jed Ludlow, T. D. Williamson
Date: 6 April 2022
Video

Truly Unpiggable – The Use of Data Analytics and AI to Understand Integrity Management of Unpiggable Pipelines
Speaker: Andy Russell, Principal Data Scientist, ROSEN Group
Date: 24 February 2022
Slides

Pipeline Integrity and the Transition to Hydrogen
Speaker: Neil Gallon, Principal Engineer, ROSEN Group & Michael Tewes, Regional Business Line Manager Advanced Pipeline Diagnostics, ROSEN Group
Date: 25 November 2021
Video

Future of Natural Gas from an Economic Point of View
Speakers: Jan Frowijn, Vice President Business Collaboration, ROSEN USA & David Madero Suárez, Independent Energy Consultant
Date: 7 October 2021
Video

How RoMat PGS ILI Saves Digs
Speaker: Christopher De Leon, Regional Business Line Manager Integrity Solutions, ROSEN USA
Date: 9 September 2021

Investigation into pigging in hydrogen pipelines
Speaker: Dr Aidan O’Donoghue, Pipeline Research Limited
Date: Wednesday 2nd June 2021